top of page




Summary: In Kentucky, there are 120 counties. Within each county, there can be multiple cities. Both counties and cities have elected officials - one set for each city and one set for the entire county. This section includes information about each elected position in county and city races. 

Information in the local section was taken from The Kentucky Legislative Research Commission. Please use the following link for a more in-depth explanation of the Duties of Elected County Officials

Please note the following information about Fayette and Jefferson counties:

*Jefferson County and Louisville form a consolidated local government, meaning under KRS Chapter 67C the mayor assume these positions alongside appointing authority for boards and commissions within the county. The other county positions (county judge/executive and fiscal court) are still elected, but the mayor and legislative council determine their salaries and duties l through the ordinance.

*Fayette County and the city Lexington have a merged government, meaning under KRS Chapter 67A the county and city form an urban-county government, and the Lexington-Fayette Urban County Council has assumed all local legislative duties.

For a more in-depth explanation, please visit InfoCentral 


In Kentucky, each city has a governing body. The governing body normally consists of a mayor and the city council. 

bottom of page